Route design rules

Route design rules

Last updated: 20 February 2013


This page contains the rules that govern the operation of the Coastal Schools Transport Group. The provision of school transport assistance is managed on a day-to-day basis by EasyBus and the Group’s transport provider, Pickering Motors. The intent of these rules is to provide sufficient instruction for this to occur. When there is doubt about whether service can be provided, the case will be referred to the Committee for a decision.

Key Terms

  • Committee – The Committee of the Coastal Schools Transport Group
  • EasyBus – EasyBus is the web-enabled student management system provided by School Admin
  • Ministry – Ministry of Education
  • Route branches – These are the parts of a route where a bus would need to travel up and back to collect students
  • Route trunks – These are the main roads and parts of a route which form a loop
  • TEZ – Transport Entitlement Zone – the boundaries defining where students can access a bus service, generally based on halfway points between schools

Route reviews

Each route will be reviewed twice-yearly, in February and July. Schools will be responsible for managing their own student data using the EasyBus system and this data will be used by EasyBus to make changes to bus routes.

Design Rules

  1. Students are able to use network buses to travel to a school which is not their nearest. Students are required to make their own way to the boundary of the TEZ of the school they attend before accessing the bus. Each school’s TEZ will be that determined by the Ministry of Education and available for viewing at The Committee will consider approving exceptions to this rule on individual basis. As required by the Group’s agreement with the Ministry, these students will be removed from the service if transporting them disadvantages existing students in any way. 
  2. All students under the age of 11 will be seated during their journey to school. The network will arrange for additional bus services to facilitate this if required. Students older than 11 will be required to stand if necessary.
  3. Students who are ineligible for a school bus service because they live too close to school will be able to access a bus service where there is sufficient space. Bus routes will not be altered to accommodate this.
  4. Bus routes will be extended along route branches to within 1.6km of the last student. If no safe turning point is available the route will be extended or contracted to reach the most sensible nearby turning point. When determining the turning point the following factors will be taken into account:
    • The number of students
    • The ages of the students
    • The safety of various options
    • The distance from the main road
    • The cost of the extension.
  5. Between Rahotu School and Opunake Primary School there is a shared zone in which students are able to consider either school as their nearest. Routes will be designed to accommodate enrolment choices for people within this area. The area comprises Arawhata and Kina Roads.

news and Information